The IELTS (International English Language Testing System) exam is a standardized exam that tests a candidate’s proficiency in the English language. This exam was developed in 1989 by the British Council, in conjunction with IDP and University of Cambridge ESOL Examination.

Format of the IELTS Exam

The IELTS exam has two modules – Academic and General Training. The module you have to test in depends on your purpose of visit to that country (a country whose native language is English).

  • If you are appearing for the exam in order to gain migration or for visiting the country to gain work experience, you will be required to appear for the General Training Module.
  • If you are seeking admission to a foreign university or applying for professional training in a foreign country, you will be required to appear for the Academic Module.

In order to find out which module you have to appear for, you can log on to

IELTS Help at ExamFocus

ExamFocus provides IELTS aspirants like you with thousands of questions to help you practice for the test. With detailed explanations to all the questions and an assessment of your test taking skills, we are the right source for all your IELTS practicing needs. The following table gives you a quick glance of what the IELTS consists of and other details.

IELTS Types General Training Module & Academic Training Module
Section Listening General training Reading and Academic Training Reading General training Writing and Academic Training Writing Speaking
Nature Common for both IELTS Types Different Different Common for both IELTS Types
Number of Questions 40 40 2 Essays Oral Interview
Time Allotted 30 minutes 60 minutes 60 minutes 11-14 minutes
Number of Sub-Sections 4 sections 3 sections 2 Tasks 3 parts

Make sure that you practice all the ExamFocus’ sample practice papers in order to get ready for your final test.

IELTS Practice Tests